Built ca. 1754 in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Dwight House was moved to Deerfield in 1950 when it was threatened with demolition. The museum’s founders, Henry and Helen Flynt, had the house dismantled and brought 35 miles north to Deerfield where it became one of only four houses along The Street that were not here originally. The restored house’s fashionable window, door, and dormer pediments, and striking color scheme have made it a favorite of photographers and visitors alike.
An historic trades demonstration area called the Apprentice’s Workshop at Dwight House is featured here. This experiential learning space provides daily visitors with a hands-on experience to show how woven wool textiles, architectural woodworking, and English factory-made ceramics were produced in the late 18th and early 19th Century. Guests of all ages will make a deeper connection with the objects in the Flynt Center of Early New England Life, as well as Historic Deerfield’s museum houses.