Step into early America as you tour Historic Deerfield’s eleven house museums. Explore hundreds of years of history along an original, mile-long street. Two houses, the Stebbins House and Sheldon House, are available for self-guided tours all day during the regular season.
The first stop for visitors to Historic Deerfield, the Visitor Center at Hall Tavern was originally built in 1760 in Charlemont, Massachusetts (about 20 miles west of Deerfield), and a ballroom wing was added around 1800. Today Museum Attendants welcome visitors with information about tickets, membership, the day’s activities, and an orientation film.» Learn More
The Channing Blake Footpath, a fully accessible pedestrian walkway open seasonally, takes visitors past a working farm and through meadows to the Deerfield River. Interpretive panels along the one-third mile walk describe local geology, natural history, and Native and European presence.
The footpath is open May 1 through December 1.» Learn More
The Deerfield Inn is a classic, full-service original country inn built in 1884 that continues to welcome travelers from around the world. Guests enjoy 24 individual guestrooms, and Champney’s Restaurant & Tavern offers relaxed fine dining and a convivial tavern with market driven menus featuring local produce, local draft beers, and intimate porch dining in season. Reservations for meals and lodging are suggested.» Learn More
The Old Burying Ground at the end of Albany Road is open to the public during daylight hours, and offers a wealth of information about the early settlers of the area. It is owned and operated by the Town of Deerfield, Massachusetts, and contains many unique and beautiful grave stones.» Learn More
Built circa 1814, the house containing the Henry Needham Flynt Silver and Metalware Collection reflects Historic Deerfield founder Henry Flynt’s interest in early American silver. The core collection of 92 pieces of American silver purchased in England by the Flynts in 1954 has grown to more than 4,000 pieces of American and English silver in a variety of forms.» Learn More
Built in 1795, the Barnard Tavern was at the center of village life at the end of the 18th century. In the early 19th century, roads and canals improved transportation and communication between towns in the new nation. This building is currently closed for restoration and reinterpretation.» Learn More
Built circa 1750, the Frary House depicts the Colonial Revival home of Miss C. Alice Baker, as restored in the 1890s with New England antiques, Arts and Crafts needlework, ironware and basketry. Baker was a teacher, collector, and antiquarian researcher, who restored the Frary House in 1892. Today Miss Baker’s home interprets the village’s active Arts and Crafts movement, her antiquarian pursuits, and her role in fostering the Colonial Revival in Deerfield.» Learn More
Built in 1747, the Wells-Thorn House presents period rooms depicting the lifestyle of Deerfield residents in a progression from the early days of 1725 all the way up to the high-style of the 1850s. It is furnished to illustrate the development of the agricultural economy, domestic life, and refinement in the Connecticut Valley.» Learn More
Originally constructed in 1730, the Hinsdale and Anna Williams House was extensively renovated to its present appearance in 1816. Ebenezer Hinsdale Williams, a landowner and farmer, was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, educated at Harvard College, and later moved to Deerfield, his mother’s native village.» Learn More
The libraries of Deerfield’s two leading museum organizations, Historic Deerfield and the Pocumtuck Valley Memorial Association (PVMA), are housed together in one building, known as the Memorial Libraries. It is located next to the Memorial Hall Museum.» Learn More