Historic Deerfield offers access to several outdoor activities including:
Channing Blake Meadow Walk: A fully accessible footpath open seasonally, the Channing Blake Meadow Walk takes visitors past a working farm and through meadows to the Deerfield River. Interpretive panels along the one-third mile walk describe local geology, natural history, and Native and European presence. The path is open May 1–December 1.
The Cooks’ Garden: This kitchen garden serves as a source of fresh ingredients for the museum’s open hearth cooking demonstrations and classes. The garden contains an assortment of useful plants commonly found in New England during the 18th and early 19th centuries. The Cooks’ Garden was dedicated in 2006 in memory of Margaret Quinn Orloske, a member of the museum who enjoyed open hearth cooking and gardening, and with thousands of others died on September 11, 2001. Funds from the Margaret Quinn Orloske Endowment are used to replenish heirloom plants, for general garden maintenance, and for support of the open hearth cooking program.
Walking Tours: Guided walking tours of Deerfield are offered daily at 10:30 a.m. for ticketed visitors. They depart from the Visitor Center at Hall Tavern. Four printed walking tours (Old Burying Ground; Pocumtuck: A Native Homeland; Deerfield, An English Settlement; and The 1704 Deerfield Raid) are available for purchase at both ticketing locations and Historic Deerfield’s Museum Gift Shop and Bookstore.
Old Burying Ground: Located at the end of Albany Road is open to the public during daylight hours, and offers a wealth of information about the early settlers of the area. It is owned and operated by the Town of Deerfield, Massachusetts, and contains many unique and beautiful grave stones.