A Brick Federal-style House and Furniture Showcase
The Wright House was built of brick in a simple Federal style in 1824 by Asa Stebbins for his son Asa Jr. upon the occasion of the latter’s marriage. The house may have been designed by Winthrop Clapp, the builder of the Brick Meetinghouse (now the Brick Church) which was also erected in 1824. Asa Sr. had built his own house in brick in 1799, contrasting from the earlier Georgian-inspired clapboard houses in Deerfield.
Asa Stebbins, Jr. was an active farmer and an energetic office holder. He served the town for many years as selectman, moderator of the town meeting, and town treasurer. The house remained in the hands of Asa Stebbins Jr.’s heirs until 1908, when it was acquired by George and Jane Wright. Purchased in 1948 by Historic Deerfield, Inc., founders Henry and Helen Flynt, they decided to keep the name “Wright House” as it would be confusing for Historic Deerfield to have two Stebbins Houses. The house's gilded fanlight details above the front door represent an architectural accent that became popular in the early 19th century.
Through the years the Wright House has been mainly a gallery house for showcasing Historic Deerfield’s outstanding collection of furniture. It is currently home to the exhibit Furniture Masterworks: Tradition and Innovation in Western Massachusetts, part of Four Centuries of Massachusetts Furniture.
Please check at the Hall Tavern Visitor Center desk for more information about tour times.
WESTERN MASSACHUSETTS FURNITURE